Training for a Half

Training for a half-marathon is no walk in the park. Running 13.1 miles might seem hard to do but if you already can run up to 3 miles or more than I say you are ready for training. I trained for a half about two years ago and my race was at White Rock Lake in Dallas, Texas. There are many different ways to train but main things is to just get out there and run. Since this was my first time running a half I decided to do it with a partner; I asked my cousin to join me.

IMG_3101

You can have a friend join you on your runs or bring your dog so that the long runs won’t be so lonely. Usually that have groups you can join that run together and train for different events. I never go to the track to run because running in circles can get boring. I usually run through neighborhoods or on trails.

Before you start you should find some races you would like to run in and set a date so you have enough training time. Find a great training guide you can follow that works with you. I found a perfect half marathon training guide that works with me on Pinterest You should start running at least four times a week and one day you should cross train. Cross train could be swimming, lifting or biking.

just remember a few things:

  • Eat clean
  • Have proper shoes
  • Stick to the plan
Leave a Reply

